Daily bread (day 3) – Persia in Peckham

The smell of fresh-baked bread has always seemed so homely, but just 3 days into my daily bread project I am starting to see that bread really goes far beyond the bounds of my experience and is key to so many cultures very different from our own.

Today I baked Shirmal (a sweet Iranian flatbread flavoured with saffron) and was wondering where I could find myself a more authentic Iranian bread-tasting experience, when I happened across the website of Persepolis – self-styled “Persia in Peckham”.

Take a look at their Persopaedia (scroll down) to read about the middle eastern breads they carry.

Then watch this film – and plan your visit to them for rose petals, sumac and pistachios.

 

Leave a Reply

